The GREATEST SALESMAN in the WORLD

Greatest salesman 1“IF YOU SHOULD MASTER THESE PRINCIPLES what would be your goal in life?” Imagine, as a young person being confronted with such a deep question. THE GREATEST SALESMAN IN THE WORLD by Og Mandino will take you on a journey of self and spiritual discovery. This book will change your life in some way, once you read the first pages it will change your life forever.

A POOR, YOUNG BOY who aspired to become more than just a camel boy for wealthy men. Hafid was given a piece of advice that planted a seed within his spirit, “True wealth is of the heart, not of the purse.”  Ultimately Hafid is given the secret of success and becomes a wealthy man, however, he is told that he will eventually pass the scrolls on to another. Hafid’s first sales job as a camel boy is to sell an expensive red robe. As the story goes, he gives this robe to Mary upon the birth of Jesus to keep him warm in the manger.

There are Ten Scrolls – Each scroll has a principle designed to REPLACE bad habits built up over a lifetime.  There is a thirty-day commitment  to read and reflect In parentheses is a quote from each scroll that exemplifies each principle.

SCROLL 1Today, I begin a new life  – The only difference between those who have failed and those who have succeeded lies in the difference of their habits. Good habits are they key to all success. Bad habits are the unlocked door to failure.

SCROLL 2I will greet this day with love in my heart   If I have no other qualities I can succeed with love alone. Without it I will fail though I possess all the knowledge and skills of the world.

SCROLL 3I will persist until I succeed  – I will ignore the obstacles at my feet and keep mine eyes on the goals above my head.

SCROLL 4I am nature’s greatest miracle  – For I was conceived in love and brought forth with a purpose.

SCROLL 5I will live this day as if it were my last   I will waste not a moment mourning yesterday’s aches of the heart, for why should I throw good after bad?

SCROLL 6Today, I will be master of my emotions  – Weak is he who permits his thoughts to control his actions; strong is he who forces his actions to control his thoughts.

SCROLL 7I will laugh at the world  – Keep things in perspective – four words will carry me through every adversity “This Too Shall Pass.”

SCROLL 8Today, I will multiply my value a hundredfold   First I will set the goals for the day, the week, the month, the year, and my life. I must have objectives, in setting my goals I will consider my best performance of the past and multiply it a hundredfold.

SCROLL 9I will act now, I will act now, I will act now   My procrastination which has held be back was born of fear – to conquer fear I must always act without hesitation.

SCROLL 10I will pray for guidance   Who is of so little faith that in a moment of great disaster or heartbreak has not called to his God?.

HAFID DECIDED TO GIVE AWAY all of his worldly possessions and wait for the person who was to receive the scrolls. Then one day, after three years had passed a stranger appears at his palace. Puzzled by the connection to this “stranger” he decided to follow his instincts and continued to probe the “stranger” with questions that would provide the necessary clarity.

THOUGHTS for your SOUL:

  • “Time teaches all things to him who lives forever, but I have not the luxury of eternity.”
  • There is only one difference between myself and the lowliest beggar…The beggar thinks only of his next meal and I think only of the meal that will be my last.”
  • I am convinced that occasionally He [God] intercedes in all of our lives and causes things to happen. Then he waits to see how we deal with His move.”

HAFID WOULD WEAR THE TITLE of GREATEST SALESMAN IN THE WORLD until it was time to pass the baton on. In an instance, Hafid realized that he was in the company of the next “Greatest Salesman in the World.” – Paul (formerly known as Saul in the Bible) who worked tirelessly to “sell” Christianity during his lifetime. He is thought of by many Christians as the Apostle of the Gentiles. Through his superior selling skills, passion and strong belief in God he was instrumental in spreading the Good News also known as the Gospel to the world.

OG MANDINO DOES AN EXCELLENT JOB of weaving the aspirations of Hafid while telling the path of his future. From Hafid’s humble beginnings as a camel boy to a wealthy merchant with power, prestige and influence, he is an excellent example of faith and discipline working synergistically.

editor's choice Let’s BOND over BOOKS  rates THE GREATEST SALESMAN IN THE WORLD as EASY & ENGAGING (150 pages or less)…straight-forward, light and to the point.

Reprinted with permission from RandomHouse Publishing.

*This post was originally published on May 19, 2013, we have added additional comments to that post.

One thought on “The GREATEST SALESMAN in the WORLD

Leave a Comment

